This page describes how graphs are used to make datasets. For insights into the nature of the graph nodes, see Graph Best Practices.
TL; DR: the following video tutorial provides a quick overview of the info below.
Graph Usage Tutorial
Create a Graph
A graph describes the processing steps necessary to generate a synthetic dataset. Graphs are stored in a workspace. To create a new graph, go to the main workspace page and click on the “New Graph” button. The new graph pop up will be displayed as shown below.
Creating a Graph from the Main Workspace Page
Enter a name for the graph, select the channel, and enter a description of the graph. Finally, click on the “Create” button. The graph view will be displayed.
New graph views are pre-populated with a default graph composed of a few nodes and links. This graph can be edited and ultimately staged, or saved for use in the jobs manager.
How to use the editor
The canvas can be panned by left clicking on an open area and dragging the canvas.
The canvas can be zoomed either by holding <Ctrl> and using the scroll wheel (Windows) or by using the buttons on the lower right in the graph editor main viewport.
Multiple nodes can be selected by holding the holding shift while clicking the left mouse button and dragging a rectangle over the nodes of interest.
Nodes and links
Adding nodes is done from the menu of nodes which is accessed via the circled plus icon on the left portion of the screen. Also, new nodes can be created by duplicating existing nodes on the graph.
Nodes can be deleted via the trash can icon that appears when a group of nodes is selected, or by pressing <Delete> or <Backspace>.
Links are added by mouse clicking the needed input/output ports. Links are deleted by first selecting the link and either pressing <Delete> or <Backspace>, or clicking the “Remove Link” icon at the top center of the graph view.
Note that, at this time, there is no ‘Undo’ capability. To back up graphs, it’s possible to duplicate a graph from the <<ADD LINK TO main graph page>>.
A sample image can be generated from the current graph state. In the process of editing a graph, the Preview button will bring up a low resolution example image from the graph. The preview service for the example channel has been optimized so the image is ready to view in less than a minute.
Invalid graphs can be caught with Preview before staging. If a graph cannot be interpreted, the preview will result in an error message informing the user of the issue.
When ready to create a dataset, the graph needs to be staged. Clicking the Stage button creates a job which will show as an entry on the Jobs tab.
Once the graph is staged, a job can be run to generate a dataset.
The individual staged graphs are created with the same name as the graph view, which can be updated by selecting it in the Jobs tab. By selecting the drop down arrow next to the staged graph, the run configuration can be set.
Running a Staged Graph
The dataset name and description will be part of the metadata and available through the SDK. The number of runs sets how many images or videos will be in the data set, and the priority setting allows the user to prioritize one job over another.
Once you have finished setting the configuration, pressing Run queues up the job. There are several states a job can be in, the failed state will result in a message similar to that of the Preview service (see above).
Jobs are ready and waiting
Jobs are processing
Jobs are successful
Jobs could not run
Cancelling a job
The trash icon in the job window will cancel the job. A canceled job will be immediately deleted from the jobs list.
Users can share the datasets associated with a workspace by going to the settings for the workspace (three vertical dots) and follow the “Invite” link.
Invite Members to a Workspace